SHOOT Online: Chelsea Provides Reflections On The Pandemic

SHOOT ONLINE: A year after the World Health Organization declared COVID-19 a global pandemic, we remember all the time we lost and the periods of reflection we had. For months around the world, we watched out our windows: gazing at empty streets, neighbors singing and clapping, protestors marching for equality; gazing at the uncertainty of the road that lay ahead.

During lockdown, directors Nadav Kander and Johan Kramer of Chelsea Pictures had an idea--to capture this contemplation and the ideals of a better future in a way that every person could understand, so that we might remember this moment in time long after it’s passed. Staring out your window--through the looking glass--to a more equal and sustainable future for everyone.

Produced by Chelsea Pictures, Don’t Go Back to Sleep is a reflection of the year in the early lockdown period. All pictures were taken inside homes looking out of windows during the Lockdown from March-June. The piece is narrated and co-created by famous landscape and portrait photographer Kander, who reads a quote from Rumi which resonates with the place we are in as a society now. Through the pandemic, U.S. election and environmental crisis, the message is simple: as we begin to find a place in our new normal, don’t go back to sleep on the issues we have yet to resolve.

Final Cut served as editorial/post house, additionally providing sound design and mix.

Creative Nadav Kander, Johan Kramer, Lisa Mehling, Tatiana Lewis, co-creators. Production Company Chelsea Pictures Editorial Final Cut Sophie Soloman, post editor; T. Terressa Tate, Amanda Fuentes, post sound mix & design; Peter Walker, post producer; Andrea Cantor, post assistant producer; Sarah Roebuck, post exec producer; Stephanie Apt, post president. Music Bill O’Connell, composer & performer. Narrator Nadav Kander Contributors Ali Buchalter, Austin Irving, Bruce Hunt, Cathy McGoldrick, Daan van Dam, Daniel Bouquet, Deidre Foote, Denise Blate Roederer, Eric Treml, Fernanda Dias Viana, John Mehling, Kathleen Dinetz, Kenna Zimmer & Ken Kochey, Kylie Brown Rosenson, Lisa Mehling, Lochlainn McKenna, Lynn Gruszow, Matt Carter, Mikey Farr, Nadav Kander, Pedro Bastos, Penny Lee, Rhiannon Stanford, Richard Flintham, Shanna Done, Shanah Blevins, Talia Kander, Tirso Diaz Jares Rueda, Ton Peters, Zoe Tomlinson

Read the original article